2005-08-04

They're here!

They're here,and they've come to me again!
Who?,you might ask.
Why the Mantids of course!
Yes it's that time of year when I start getting that odd little "feeling" in my gutty wuts,which is soon followed by unusual visits from the PRAYING MANTIS!!!
This time I'd been thinking of them all week,telling my friends,"soon,very soon,I can feel them near",then last night when I was leaving work,locking the door,I backed up against the hand rail,and got that creepy sickness in my belly,and got an image of a Mantis in my mind,I turned around quick,but no Mantis visitor,just an ugly spiders near the other door,but today,ohh ohh today!.
Right before I left work today,another manager was coming in the and the first thing she says is,"There's a Praying Mantis by the out door",I jumped up and said"He's here,I knew it I knew he's was coming,I could sense him!", Then I ran out and right at the exact spot I "sensed" him and saw him in my mind the night before,he sat looking up turning his little head.
Of course the other workers looked at me,and must have thought me a total lunatic ranting predictions of Mantis's and running outside.
He wasn't huge like the ones I see usually towards the end of August,but he wasn't tiny.He was a moderate sized ,cute little mantis,but the poor creature was injured it seemed.
The manager got the broom and tried to sweep it of the sidewalk,this only worsened the poor things condition as it rolled over and over and apparently couldn't fly to saftey.
This makes about the 5th Mantis that has appeared to me injured.
Once right at my car,once right at Cathy's stairs when I got there,once at Meghan's door,at work last night,and I can't remember the other but I have run into several others.
Now about four years ago I would have run out the other door,flapping my arms like a scared little girl,half sick with terror,but due to the fact I've gotten to the point where I can sense them,I've been so fascinated by these creatures,I've been trying to overcome my horrid phobia.
The first one I actually touched was the visitor at Meggy's,I almost threw up and jumped back,but it was a huge step from,avoiding an entire yard because one is near there,to actually touching it's back,Thanks for the confidence Meggy!
So anyway,I felt bad for this injured being,and watching it being swept and beaten,actually made me sad for my former mortal, enemy,the sickness actually vanished,and I did what I never imagined I would do,I said"No stop,I'll take him to the trees,and help him,and then I bent down ,helped him onto a cd I was holding,and carried him to a near by tree.
He tried to grasp on to the leaf with those little bent hook arms,(the ones I once feared would rip out my eyes and feast upon them), but he was too weak to hold on.
I felt so bad for him,so I sat him down in the shaded grass,and said"Here ya go buddy,I hope you're ok!"
Then I skipped off to my car and drove off thinking of him all day.
I expect to see several more before fall,so if you want to have your own visit with the Mantids,just hang out with me as often as possible before fall,and it's almost deffinite one will be waiting for me.

9:20 p.m. . by Timm Jumper