2005-09-05

Golf club to the face!

So I was sitting at my uncle's house,nursing my 3rd gin & tonic,trying to stay in a somewhat decent mindframe,still getting over the mild depression that sunk in from the previos days events,when the calm was shattered by the screams of a child and the panic panic of everyone but me.
You see we were hitting golf balls into the yard and surrounding woods all afternoon and we were just finisihing up a little "competition" of hitting into a bucket for money.
I can't recall how many times we had to warn the kids to " be aware of your surroundings!, watch where you're swinging that club!, hey!, careful somone's behind you!"
Well, as you can imagine, these words of warning fell upon ignorant ears and once again a child had to learn an important lesson through expierience,thus the screaming and panic.
Like I was saying,I was finishing up my 3rd yummy beverage, when I heard this boy screaming "Oh God it hurts it hurts!!!".
We all turned around to see this child clutching his face with his hand as frightening amounts of blood came pouring out from his face soaking his hand and the ground.
Apparently a little girl wanted to give the whole"golf" thing a "whack", but instead of connecting with the ball, she connected with the face of the boy standing far too close.
Everyone rushed to him with towels and ice and concern.
I just sat there with my drink, watching this chaos, half stunned by what was actually going on.
They all rushed to a car to take this bleeding boy to the emergency room, I tagged along, threw the driver my ciggarettes, then found my way back to the porch to finish my drink and try to make sense of what the fuck I just witnessed.
I know it sounds horrid,and insensitive on my part, but I found myself trying my hardest not to burst out into laughter.
I mean, c'mon!!,a golf club to the face! How funny is that shit?!
It's ok,the boy is fine, aside from a scar and a headache and a new found fear of golf clubs most likely,fine.
I waited for everyone to gather back onto the porch, stood up and asked, "Um..,So who's turn was it again?"
Laughter ensued.

1:38 p.m. . by Timm Jumper