2004-10-01

Where were you?

So ,where were you 20 years ago?
Can you even remember?
Not born?
Crawling around with shit in your pants,or finally at the age where you can remember things for the rest of your life?
Older?,old enough to know something really bad has happened,but why?

A series of unfortunate coincidences,all leading up to a horrible,unconceiveable climax.
We were all supposed to be there.
In my house,well,My family's.
Mom ,Dad,brother,me,were supposed to be there.
Grandma promised she would be there.
My two uncles,both younger then I am now by at least 2 years.
One of thier girlfriends was supposed to be there.
Me, only four years old,stuck in a van with mom,dad,and brother in Ohio on the way home from a vacation.
Grandma gets ill,says she can't make it although she promised.
Uncle's girlfriend can't make for a reason I'm not sure of.
The garage wasn't sure why our van wouldn't work,stuck for a couple hours.
We were supposed to be home by six.
That was the plan.
Grandma was gonna be there,that was the plan.
Everyone was supposed to be there,have fun,family together,six o'clock,that was the plan.
We tried to call,tried to let them know we were stuck for unknown reasons,tried to explain.
Phone lines were down.Nobody could get in contact.
5 pm,my family's house,empty but my two uncles.
Granma,girlfriend,supposed to be there.
Me,mom,dad,brother stuck.
5:30pm
Uncle's arguing,drunk,high,who knows exactly all the details.
Anger increases,violence,yelling,hitting,blind rage fuled by drinking,viloent child-hood and drug abuse.
We were supposed to be there.
545pm
Just uncle's,it's getting more violent,I'm sure you could feel the anger a mile away.
One makes a horrible dicission fueld by rage and drink and drug.
I'll fucking Kill you!!!!!!!
I'll fucking kill you!!!!!!
Mom ,dad,brother ,me(4 years old,happy playing in a van,"why aren't we going home?,why are we stuck?"
Phone lines still down,Van still stuck,why?
Uncles alone,rage,horrid rage,searching for something to remedy this?
A closet,daddy's closet,
I remember playing in it,finding something I shouldn't ever touch,something nobody in my opinion should touch,something you never point at your brother,quickly to get yelled at by Father.
"I was just joking dad!"
Uncle remebered this closet as well,he was not joking,dad was not there to yell,nobody was there but them,WE were ALL supposed to be there.
What seemed like unfortunate coincidence stopped us all.
It's shortly after 6pm,October 1st,1984,
Older uncle lies dead on the floor,a hole in his stomache,the other I don't ever want to feel what he was feeling,"what happened,what have I done!!!"
Never,can I try to imagine.
It's shortly after 6pm,October 1st,1984,Grandma gets the phone call,that horrible phone call nobody ever wants to imagine.
It's after 6pm,October 1st,1984,The van still won't start,Me,mom,dad brother,the phone lines finally work,Mom gets through,wants to explain why we aren't there.
Her voice greeted by hysteria,told something she would never want to hear,ever.
We were supposed to be there at 6.
The van immediately starts,we head home,head home to this,were we were all already supposed to be.
I remember,brother's drawing,he drew so well,now covered in blood.
What happened mom?
I'm glad I don't remember anything else.

Before I went to work today Mom asked me,"Do you remember where you were 20 years ago?",
I remember being stuck,I remember drawings.
I remember nothing,nothing like they remember.
It's October 1st,1984,Do you remember where you were?

10:58 p.m. . by Timm Jumper